Saturns cosmic hide 

The moon shifts itself before the Saturnm, 3rd of November 2001

in deutsch

 

At this place, I want to say Thanks to Andreas Heidl  leaving me for this evening his 3ccd video camera. Working together with a large expenditure of time into the morning hours the implementation of the pictures and the 3rd clip were enabled. Further thanks to Martin Rietze. With his know-how in astronomical observations and a lot of patience the Gifs 1 and 2 were created by him.

Entrance of Saturn ( Magnified apprx. 240 x )

       

A planet disappeared

On the 3rd of November 2001 the moon in the constellation Taurus covered the Saturn. This seldom process of the celestial mechanics started in Fuerstenfeldbruck around 22.00 h. Already with the naked eye astro observers could saw the bright edge of the crater furrowed  moon coming slowly nearer to the little resplendent lightspot. More impressively the whole  was shown in a telescope. We tried to film this event too, and it was working perfectly because of the phaenomenal calm atmosphere and best weather conditions. The Saturn needs 90 seconds for the entrance to disappear behind the moon disk completely

  

Canon 3ccd Videokamera auf 150 / 1200 mm mit Siberia Newton Reflektor. (Boeckel)

About one hour later the ring surrounded planet was coming out of  the dark zone of the moon and terminated this delightful process of celestial mechanics.

Saturnclips

From the recording technologies no substantial differences are to be mentioned (both top cameras), the following video clips should illustrate the performance of two telescope classes. In comparison to Martins 200 mm Zeiss Refraktor, which is well known as the Mercedes under the telescopes the Siberia 150mm reflector has also a very good optical quality.  Important for me was to point in the 3rd video clip, which good results can be quite attained with telescopes of the middle class. So remember to your dusty telescope.

 

Saturn Entrance

Entrance and exit

Saturn exit

 

200/3000 Zeiss AS Refraktor, created from frames with a Epson Digicam. (M.Rietze)

Canon 3ccd video camera on 150/1200 mm  Siberia Newton reflector. (Boeckel) (8MB) 

200/3000 Zeiss AS Refraktor, created from frames with a Epson Digicam. (M. Rietze)

 

Also belonging to the party: Nina, Andi and Christine which discovered me sayful 3 minutes before the entrance of the Saturn. No bad timing....


 

Saturn with moon to  16.4.2002; 22,55 Central European Summer Time,  8 over horizon, sw - photography -  ASA, 1600

 Both celestial bodies in the total view. Unfortunately cloud banks from the west drewed up, and after exchanging the oculars both dissappeared.......

Next Saturns cosmic hide, stay patient to 2007!!!!

 Etna    Stromboli    Volcano world    Counter Cinema

From Etna to Stromboli     Planets & Space

2005 photos by T.Boeckel and M.Rietze last modification 18.1.2002

Das kosmische Versteckspiel

Der Mond schiebt sich vor den Saturn, 3. November 2001

in english

 

An dieser Stelle Vielen Dank an Andreas Heidl, der mir für diesen Abend seine 3ccd Videokamera überließ und mit großem Zeitaufwand bis in die Morgenstunden die Verwirklichung der Bilder und des 3. Clips ermöglicht hat. Ein weiterer Dank geht an Martin Rietze der mit seinem ausgesprochenen Know-how bei seinen astronomischen Beobachtungen und einer Menge Geduld die Gifs 1 und 2 erstellte.

Eintritt! ( Umgerechnete Vergrößerung etwa 240 x )

         

Ein Planet verschwand

Am 3. November 2001 bedeckte der Mond in der Konstellation Stier den Saturn. Das seltene Schauspiel begann in Fürstenfeldbruck um 22.00 h. Schon mit bloßem Auge sahen Sterngucker wie sich der helle Rand des Kraterzerfurchten Mondes an das schimmernde Lichtpünktchen heran schob. Viel eindrucksvoller wurde das ganze  in einem Teleskop gezeigt. Auch wir versuchten dieses Ereignis zu filmen. Und, es hat Dank einer phänomenal ruhigen Atmosphäre und besten Wetterbedingungen geklappt. Der Saturn benötigte 90 Sekunden für den Eintritt bis er ganz hinter der Mondscheibe verschwand.

  

Austritt aus der Dunkelzone des Mondes

 Canon 3ccd Videokamera auf 150 / 1200 mm mit Siberia Newton Reflektor (Boeckel)

Etwa eine Stunde später trat der umringte Planet aus der dunklen Seite des Mondes wieder aus und beendete den Akt dieses reizvollen Vorganges der Himmelsmechanik. Mit von der Partie waren Nina, Andi und Christine die mich sagenhafte 3 Minuten vor dem Eintritt des Saturns doch noch gefunden haben. Kein schlechtes Timing....

Saturnclips

Da von den Aufnahmetechniken keine wesentlichen Unterschiede zu erwähnen sind, (beides top Kameras) sollen die folgenden Videoclips die Leistung zweier Teleskopklassen veranschaulichen. Wichtig ist mir beim 3.Clip zu zeigen, das gute Ergebnisse durchaus mit Teleskopen der Mittelklasse zu erreichen sind. Im Vergleich hat der Siberia 150mm Reflektor auch eine sehr gute Optik zu Martins 200 mm Zeiss Refraktor, der ja als Mercedes unter den Teleskopen gilt. Also doch mal wieder das verstaubte Fernrohr !

Saturn Eintritt

Ein- und Austritt

Saturns Austritt 

 

200/3000 Zeiss AS Refraktor, erstellt aus Bildern mit einer Epson-cam. ( M.Rietze)

Canon 3ccd Video auf 150 / 1200 mm  Siberia Newton Reflektor. (8MB) (T.Boeckel)

200/3000 Zeiss AS Refraktor, erstellt aus Bildern mit einer Epson- cam. ( M. Rietze)


 

Saturn bei Mond am  16.4.2002; 22.55 MESZ,  8° über Horizont, SW - Photographie -  ASA, 1600

Beide Himmelskörper in der Gesamtansicht . Leider zogen Wolkenbänke aus dem Westen auf, und nachdem ich die Okulare tauschte warn'se beide weg.......

Nächste Saturnbedeckung, 2007 !!!!

Ätna     Stromboli      Vulkanwelt     Counter Cinema

Vom Ätna zum Stromboli      Planets & Space

 ©Videocaptures and clips by Boeckel / Rietze     © photos& text by  Thorsten Boeckel, last modification 18.3.2003