Ethiopia

Erta Ale and Dallol, 2002

A retrospective by Richard Roscoe

in deustch


Erta Ale shield volcano is located in the Danakil Depression in NE Ethiopia, which due to its remote location, extreme climate and the presence of often hostile Afar tribesmen, is only infrequently visited.  Recently, renewed tensions between Ethiopia and Eritrea have further complicate travel in the area.

Purely by chance, whilst on Stromboli in spring 2001, I overheard Roberto Carniel (of Stromboli online) talking about a possible expedition to the volcano.  The expedition was being organized by Roberto in collaboration with Luigi Cantamessa of Geodecouverte, who via his local contacts could organize the necessary logistical support.  Obviously, when I was offered the possibility to join, the decision was an easy one.

Finally, in February 2002 the volcanologists and photographers making up the group assembled in Adis Abeba and then flew N with Ethiopian Airlines to Makele.  At the time, Makele had a tiny terminal complex, basically consisting of 3 sheds, housing restaurant, toilets an the check-in counter, although a larger terminal was already being built.  Makele airport also has a large military section, due to the proximity to the Eritrean border.  After a night in Makele, we returned to the airport, where an Ethiopian Military Mi-8 transport helicopter awaited us to ferry the group in two batches to Erta Ale.  The flight initially passed mountainous terrain which then rapidly fell away as we reaching the Danakil depression and approached Erta Ale.

1a  1b  1c  1d

After briefly flying over the volcano (Fig.1a) the helicopter finally landed on lava flows emplaced in the 1970s near to the active pit crater (Fig.1b).  Camp had already been set up, including a cooking niche in a small crevace covered by a plastic sheet, and a dining area consisting of a ground sheet and suspended tarpaulin to keep the sun off (Fig.1c).  Sleeping arrangements were simple, with participants just looking for flattish areas in the vicinity to spread out their small foam mattresses.  Simple, but what more could one want (apart from at times a large ventilator to blow away biting fumarole gases which occasionally were blown over the camping area  ;-)Ö).   Since it doesnít rain at this time of year, there was no need for any canvas to spoil the fantastic nighttime view of the clear starlit sky.  The camp was guarded by armed Afar policemen who are needed to protect against hostile tribesmen (Fig.1d)

2 2 2c

2d  2e  2f

The rim of the pit crater can be approached easily, yet due the risk of collapse it was wise to attach oneself to a safety rope laid parallel to the crater rim when spending lengthy periods observing the lava lake.  The lake presented itself about 80 m below us as expected, with a semi-solid crust which moved around, folded, tore apart (Fig.2a, 2b, 2c).  The motion resembles a high speed model of plate techtonics and has indeed often been used to illustrate this on documentary programs.  Occasionally, one or more lava fountains could be observed breaking through the crust of the lake (Fig.2d, 2e).  Activity was irregular, with active phases of up to three or four simultaneous fountains being followed by periods of relative calm.  As a result of the fountaining activity, Peles hairs were deposited around the edge of the pit (Fig.2f).

3a  3b  3c

Although the active pit was the main attraction, other points of interest were the larger inactive N pit (Fig.3a) and a tiny central inactive pit (Fig.3b). Fumarole activity was centered N of the active pit and minor fumarole activity was also found at the top of the N flank of the volcano near a small inactive hornito, presumably dating from the 1970s.  Whilst the photographers focussed on the visible activity, the volcanologists also set up instrumentation to measure the seismic activity.  Fig.3c shows Josh working by his seismometers.

4 4 4 4d

After several days the helicopter returned with additional supplies and the crew was surprised when we boarded in expectation of a scenic flight to the south of the volcano.  After some confusion, it turned out that the helicopter didnít have enough fuel to make the trip and after some discussion the crew returned to Makele to fill up the tanks.  After its return, we finally took off and headed south, passing Hayli Gubbi volcano (Fig.4a), numerous small rift zones and craters (Fig.4b), and the lakeside Borawli volcano (Fig.4c), before returning to Erta Ale (Fig.4d).

5 5 5c

5d  5e  5f

After a couple more days of lava lake observation, the helicopter returned again and we crammed everyone and the luggage into it before setting off in a northerly direction to make a brief 24 hr visit to the Dallol hot springs.  En route, we passed Borale Ale (Fig.5a), Dalaffilla (Fig.5b),  Alu (Fig.5c) and Gada Ale (Fig.5d) volcanoes and the Elizabeth Cone (Fig.5e) that rise from the salt planes of the depression, before hovering over the deserted italian mining town (Fig.5f) and landing in the midst of the springs (Fig.5g). 

6 6 6

Dallol was last significantly shaped by phreatic eruptions recorded in 1926.  Currently, activity is in the form of hot brine springs.  Salts washed out of the underlying layers are transported to the surface by geothermally heated water and rapidly crystallize as the water evaporate.  The characteristic white, yellow and red colours are apparently the result of sulphur and different potassium salts.  Dallol is located on top of an at least 1000m thick layer of quaternary evaporates including large potash (potassium salt) reserves.  Most of the potash is in the form of sylvite (KCl), but carnallite and kainite are also reported. The deposit is highly stratified with the main sylvite-bearing zones being between 15 and 40m in thickness and total recoverable sylvite estimated at around 60 million tonnes.  Small-scale mining in the Dallol area occurred in 1917 and 1927 and a small italian mining settlement was set up at Dallol in the 1930s and was operational until shortly before british troops arrived in 1941.  The US Parsons company performed exploration work in the vicinity of Dallol in the 1960s, yet all work was stopped in 1967.  However, in 1997, Norsk Hydro A/S aquired exclusive rights to the Dallol deposit, so it is possible that mining operations could be resumed in the near future.

6d  6e  6f

Although at first puzzled by the idea of leaving behind a lava lake to go and see some hot springs, I rapidly wished we could stay longer.  In spite of temperatures reaching 44 degrees C, little use was made of the tarpaulin offered as sun protection and reels of film were being used up fast.  Dallol is simply stunning and unlike at Yellowstone you can walk right up to the springs.  Unfortunately, my canon EOS 50 (and sony video camera which packed up shortly afterwards) didnít take at all kindly to the high temperatures and exposure to the sun.  Most photos were unuseably underexposed as a result since the light meter located near the top of the camera apparently malfunctions if grilled (they could have mentioned that in the instructions ;-)))..).  Fortunately, a few photos which are shown here were made with the backup EOS500N camera.  The photos show various hot springs with their fantastic intense white, yellow and red colourations (Fig.6a-f).

7

After spending a night at Dallol, the helicopter returned to pick us up and fly us to Makele.  There, the group split and three of us headed off by 4WD vehicle to look at some of the other attractions Ethiopia has to offer before returning home.  These included various churches built high on (or in) rocks in the north of the country (Fig.7a), Axum with its famous Steles (Fig.7b), the royal palace complex at Gondar (Fig.7c), the Blue Nile Falls and the unique monolithic churches at Lalibela (Fig.7d).  Without wanting to go into further detail here, I would highly recommend extending any Erta Ale visit to get an impression of the country as a whole.

7 7 7d


jump to

Erta Ale and Dallol tour, 2008 oder 2011

Etna    Stromboli    Volcano world    Counter Cinema

From Etna to Stromboli     Planets & Space

 ©  2006 photos  by Richard Roscoe, last modification 14.10.2006

Äthiopien

Erta Ale und Dallol, 2002

Ein Rückblick von Richard Roscoe

in english


Erta Ale ist ein Schildvulkan der sich in der Danakilsenke in Nordost Äthiopien, der durch seine Abgeschiedenheit, extremes Klima, und die Präsenz oft feindseliger Afar Stammesangehöriger, selten besucht wird.  In letzter Zeit haben Spannungen zwischen Äthiopien und Eritrea Reisen in die Gegend weiter erschwert. 

Durch Zufall, während eines Strombolibesuchs im Frühjahr 2001, überhörte ich wie Roberto Carniel (von Stromboli online) über eine mögliche Erta Ale Expedition sprach.  Diese wurde organisiert von Roberto in Zusammenarbeit mit Luigi Cantamessa von Geodecouverte, der durch seine lokalen Kontakte die nötige logistische Unterstützung organisieren konnte.  Als sich die Möglichkeit ergab mich der Expedition anzuschließen, war die Entscheidung natürlich einfach.

Im Februar 2002 war es dann soweit und Vulkanologen und Fotographen versammelten sich erstmal in Adis Abeba um von dort aus mit Ethiopian Airlines nach Makele im Norden zu fliegen.  Zu dieser Zeit bestand der Flughafen noch aus drei Wellblechschuppen – Restaurant, Toilette und Terminal.  Makale Flughafen hat einen großen militärischen Bereich durch die nähe zu Eritrea.  Nach einer Nacht in Makele, kehrten wir zum Flughafen zurück wo uns ein Mi-8 Transporthelikopter des Äthiopischen Militärs für den Flug nach Erta Ale zur Verfügung stand.  Erst überquerten wir gebirgiges Gelände das aber schlagartig von der Senke abgelöst wurde als wir uns Erta Ale näherten.

1a  1b  1c  1d

Nach einem kurzen Überflug über den Vulkan (Fig.1a), landete der Helikopter auf erstarrten Lavaströmen aus den 70er Jahren in der nähe des aktiven Kraters (Fig.1b).  Das Lager erwartete uns schon und bestand aus einer Kochnische in einem Spalt der durch eine Plane vor der Sonne geschützt wurde, und eine Bodenplane sowie eine darüber gespannte Plane das als „Esszimmer“ diente (Fig.1c).  Geschlafen wurde von den meisten auf  einfachen Schaumstoffmatratzen die auf diversen flachen Stellen in der Landschaft verteilt waren.  Einfach, aber was sollte man mehr wollen (außer vielleicht einen grossen Ventilator um die Fumarolengase die gelegentlich in unsere Richtung wehten zu vertreiben  ;-)))...).  Da es zu dieser Jahreszeit nicht regnet, war ein Zelt unnötig und hätte den Blick auf den wunderschönen klaren Sternenhimmel gestört.  Das Lager wurde von bewaffneten Afar Polizisten vor feindselige Stammesangehörige geschützt (Fig.1d).

2 2 2c

2d  2e  2f

Der Rand des Kraters kann leicht erreicht werden, aber dieser Bereich ist instabil und kann in die Tiefe stürzen.  Daher hat man sich bei längeren Aufenthalten am Kraterrand an ein Sicherheitsseil gebunden.  Der Lavasee füllte einen Grossteil des Kraterbodens in ungefähr 80m Tiefe und hatte eine zähe Kruste die sich langsam verschob, faltete und an anderen Stellen wieder aufriss (Fig.2a, 2b, 2c).  Diese Bewegungen werden oft in Filmen zur Darstellung der Plattentektonik verwendet.  Gelegentlich brachen eine oder mehrere Lavafontänen durch die Oberfläche (Fig.2d, 2e).  Aktivität war irregulär, mit aktiven Phasen mit bis zu vier simultanen Fontänen, aber auch Perioden geringer Aktivität.  Durch die Fontänen produzierte Peles Haare waren am Kraterrand verstreut (Fig.2f).

3a  3b  3c

.Obwohl der aktive Krater die Hauptattraktion war, waren der inaktive Nordkrater (Fig.3a) und der winzige inaktive zentrale Krater (Fig.3b) auch interessant. Fumarolische Aktivität beschränkte sich hauptsächlich auf den südlichen Rand des Nordkraters.   Während die Fotographen sich mit den sichtbaren Aktivitätsformen beschäftigten, beschäftigten sich die Vulkanologen auch mit der seismischen Aktivität.  Fig.3c zeigt Josh in der nähe eines seiner Seismometer

4 4 4 4d

Nach einigen Tagen kehrte der Helikopter mit weiterem Proviant zurück und die Besatzung war überrascht als wir einstiegen in Erwartung eines Rundflugs in Südlicher Richtung.  Nach etwas Verwirrung wurde es klar, daß der Helikopter nicht ausreichend Treibstoff getankt hatte und daß er erst nach Makele zurückkehren musste bevor wir uns die Gegend südlich von dem Vulkan anschauen könnten.  Nach seiner Rückkehr flogen wir dann nach Süden und konnten Hayli Gubbi Vulkan (Fig.4a), diverse Spaltenzonen und kleine Krater (Fig.4b), den an einem See gelegenen Borawli Vulkan (Fig.4c) und bei unserer Rückkehr Erta Ale (Fig.4d) aus der Luft betrachten.

5 5 5c

5d  5e  5f

Nach weiteren Tagen am Lavasee, kehrte der Helikopter zurück und wir zwängten uns wie Sardinen hinein um in nördliche Richtung nach Dallol zu fliegen. Auf dem Weg dorthin überflogen wir Borale Ale (Fig.5a), Dalaffilla (Fig.5b), Alu (Fig.5c) und Gada Ale (Fig.5d) Vulkane, sowie den Elizabeth Kegel (Fig.5e) die aus der riesigen Salzfläche der Senke herausragen, bevor wir über die verlassene italienische Minensiedlung (Fig.5e) flogen und zwischen den heißen Quellen landeten (Fig.5g).

6 6 6

Seit 1926, als Dallol das letzte Mal von phreatischen Explosionen gestaltet wurde, beschränkt sich die Aktivität auf heiße Quellen.  Aus diesen Quellen sprudelt geothermal erhitztes Wasser, daß aus dem Untergrund gelöstes Salz an die Oberfläche transportiert und Ablagert.  Die Quellen erhalten vor allem durch Schwefel und verschiedene Kaliumsalze ihre Charakteristischen Weiß-, Gelb- und Rotfärbungen.  Vor allem KCl ist in der über 1000m dicken Salzschicht auf der Dallol liegt in grossen Mengen vorhanden (siehe Englische Version für weitere Details).  Diese Kaliumsalze sind schon lange von wirtschaftlichem Interesse, und Abbau wurde 1917, 1927 und in den 30er Jahren durch die Italiener betrieben.  Seitdem wurden die Kaliumsalzvorkommen in den 60er Jahren von der US Firma Parsons untersucht aber nicht abgebaut, und in 1997 erwarb die Norsk Hydro A/S die exklusiven Rechte dort Kaliumsalze abzubauen.  Ob und wann diese Rechte umgesetzt werden ist noch nicht klar.

6d  6e  6f

Obwohl ich mich erst wunderte wie man einen Lavasee verlassen konnte um ein paar heisse Quellen anzuschauen, änderte ich bald meine Meinung.  Trotz Temperaturen von bis zu 44 Grad, wurde wenig gebrauch von der zur Schutz aufgestellten Plane gemacht und Filmrollen wurden schnell verschossen.  Dallol ist erstaunlich schön und im Gegensatz zu Yellowstone ist es natürlich möglich ohne Einschränkungen die Quellen zu besichtigen.  Leider war meine Canon EOS 50 den hohen Temperaturen und der Sonneneinstrahlung nicht gewachsen.  Die meisten Bilder waren unbrauchbar unterbelichtet da das Lichtmesser das sich im oberen Teil des Gehäuses befindet, anscheinend nicht sonderlich davon angetan war gegrillt zu werden.  Glücklicherweise habe ich aber mit der EOS 500N Reservekamera auch einige Bilder gemacht.  Die Bilder zeigen die intensiven Weiß-, Gelb- und Rottöne der heißen Quellen (Fig.6a-f)

7

Nach einer Nacht in Dallol, holte uns der Helikopter wieder ab und flog uns zurück nach Makele.  Dort teilte sich die Gruppe auf und drei von uns zogen per Allradfahrzeug los um einige weitere Attraktionen des Landes anzuschauen bevor wir nach Hause zurückkehrten.  Diese umfassten einige Kirchen auf oder in Felsen im Norden des Landes (Fig.7a), Axum mit seinen berühmten Stelen (Fig.7b), der königliche Palastkomplex in Gondar (Fig.7c), die Blaues Nil Wasserfälle und die einzigartigen monolithischen Kirchen

 

7 7 7d

Lalibelas (Fig.7d).  Ohne mich an dieser Stelle in dieses Thema weiter vertiefen zu wollen, kann ich nur empfehlen eine solche Tour mit einem Erta Ale Besuch zu verbinden


weiter zu

Erta Ale und Dallol Tour, 2008 oder 2011

Etna    Stromboli    Volcano world    Counter Cinema

From Etna to Stromboli     Planets & Space

 ©  2006 photos  by Richard Roscoe, last modification 14.10.2006